GwMA Celebrates Bicentennial Torch Run and Elects 2019 Board Members

December 31, 2018
GwMA members and guests met at the Gwinnett Chamber 1818 Club for their final meeting of 2018.  The business meeting portion of the event included recognition of Grayson Mayor Allison Wilkerson as a long-standing member of the GwMA Executive Board. 

President Barbara Bender announced the proposed slate of executive board members for 2019.  Sugar Hill Council Member Brandon Hembree was selected as the newest board member and Duluth Council Member Kelly Kelkenberg was elected Vice President. Barbara Bender will again serve as President of GwMA for 2019.

A special recognition was announced for Lawrenceville Mayor Judy Jordan Johnson.  President Bender and Gwinnett County Board of Commissioners Chair Charlotte Nash presented Mayor Johnson with a commemorative plaque, and, one of the two 2018 Bicentennial Torches used for the 236 mile run by Gwinnett County Public School students.  Throughout 2018 Mayors from the Gwinnett cities participated in the torch run by accepting the torch for display at each of the city halls.  The routes and schools’ student participation were all planned and directed by Mayor Johnson – truly a “Once-In-Two-Hundred” year celebration!