GwMA's February General Session Held in the New Lilburn City Hall

March 10, 2017

Lilburn’s spacious new City Hall was the site of the Gwinnett Municipal Association’s February, 2017 general session meeting.The event drew over 75 members and invited guests from the Gwinnett Board of Commissioners, Gwinnett County Public Schools, Evermore Community Improvement District, Lilburn Community Improvement District and Gwinnett Village Community Improvement District. 

Prior to the start of the meeting, attendees were able to enjoy a tour of both City Hall and the adjacent County Library. The impressive campus was constructed as a joint venture between the City of Lilburn and Gwinnett County. 

The information tours were the perfect precursor to the GwMA meeting which was also a learning experience. The meeting’s theme was, “How Well Do You Know Your Mayor?” Mayors from 9 of Gwinnett’s 16 cities volunteered to present a three minute “TED” (Technology Entertainment and Design) talk on topics that reflected their personal lives and interests. Topics ranged from growing-up, parenting and historical journeys to present day hobbies and interests. 
Lilburn Mayor Johnny Crist and GwMA President (and Sugar Hill Mayor) Steve Edwards served as the program’s “emcees”, announcers and timekeepers for the TED talks

The program moved quickly, although to no one’s surprise, many mayors exceeded the three - minute time limit. Audience reaction to the presentations, some of which were very personal ranged from laughter to smiles to a few tears. Comments made at the conclusion of the evening supported GwMA offering this type of program again. Mayors sharing their personal experiences and passions provided a good bit of entertainment, but more importantly provided insight into the personalities that serve and lead our outstanding Gwinnett Cities.

GwMA thanks Grayson Mayor Allison Wilkerson, Dacula Mayor Jimmy Wilbanks, Auburn Mayor Linda Blechinger, Berkeley Lake Mayor Lois Salter, Lawrenceville Mayor Judy Jordan Johnson, Braselton Mayor Bill Orr, Lilburn Mayor Johnny Crist, Duluth Mayor Nancy Harris and Sugar Hill Mayor Steve Edwards for the time, effort and thought they put into their individual TED presentations.